Concern about merciless Dominus as Melee

I'm looking for tips, tricks and advice on facing merciless Dominus as melee. All the videos I find are from mid 80s level players in softcore. Not very helpful.

I'm level 70 in HC with fairly poor gear as im self found, and don't believe I can take a slam. I have whirling blades to escape but in my experience he occasionally does not give a queue to the attack. It only takes once. I'm also concerned about doing dps while avoiding his lightning. I don't want his Energy Shield regenerating so I considered Viper Strike but I have no experience with it.

My best idea seems to be switching to Spectral Throw. I'm not spec'd for it at all so will I have enough DPS to get the job done?

I'd love to hear suggestions on dealing with this boss.
Strictly SSF HC legit dual-wield Duelist.
Women swoon at the sight of him
Men tremble at the thought of him
And few that face him in battle live to tell the tale.
If u use cyclone, AA is a huge help. It will make him slow, so u can easy escape his slam. To be even safer, u can just cyclone through and do kinda hit and run tactic. That's what i do for map dominus with hard mods. Quicksilver flasks would also help a lot with this tactic and u can refresh them with tps.

Reave is really good, if u manage to keep vaal reave up. Range is huge.

Cant help with other melee skills, didnt played them in a while.

And most important, dont get caught up in ice beams from totems.
Last edited by 1337fun on Nov 29, 2015, 7:38:23 PM
Dominus' first form is really rough against melee, especially in HC where you cannot afford to die. Your best bet is probably puncture.
I am unsure what your current build is like, but if you went phys, puncture would be a solid choice against him for hit and run tactics.