Beginner's doubt about End Game

I am a beginner in POE and I was hoping the experienced people here could tell me about the end game.

1. From what I've known so far, you beat the game in normal mode to unlock cruel. Beat the game in cruel to unlock Merciless. And after beating it in merciless, maps are unlocked.- So I have to do the same quests and play the same game 3 times over? - Or am I misunderstanding it?

2. Where does Act 4 fit into all this?

3. After unlocking maps, what else will be left to do other than clearing maps and level'ing up? Does the game have a "end" per se?

4. So basically, is it doing all quests 3 times over, reaching a certain level. Then creating a new character and repeating the whole thing again?

Bonus - If possible, I would also like to know what Hardcore and Torment/Bloodlines are and how they fit into this.

I am really enjoying this game so far but I would like to know where I am headed to, just to be clear. I feel like I haven't understood a lot of it yet. Hope you can help.

P.S - Yes, I googled. No, I didn't get proper answers owing to the numerous other topics with similar headings.
Free Atziri Service - https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/1458846
"
Le_Sanzo wrote:
I am a beginner in POE and I was hoping the experienced people here could tell me about the end game.

1. From what I've known so far, you beat the game in normal mode to unlock cruel. Beat the game in cruel to unlock Merciless. And after beating it in merciless, maps are unlocked.- So I have to do the same quests and play the same game 3 times over? - Or am I misunderstanding it?

2. Where does Act 4 fit into all this?

3. After unlocking maps, what else will be left to do other than clearing maps and level'ing up? Does the game have a "end" per se?

4. So basically, is it doing all quests 3 times over, reaching a certain level. Then creating a new character and repeating the whole thing again?