After 2 years of waiting heavy armors still look awful :(

Hello, I started playing this game when it was still in beta, then through the first few months from release. I always found the game mechanics and the graphics pretty good, but the lack of cool-looking armors has always been a big turn-off for me.

When I play this kind of games I want my high-level characters to stand out, I want their armor to look epic... but in PoE armors look pretty ugly, regardless of your level. I was hoping to see some changes after so long, but nope. I have seen that a cool skin has been added to the microtransactions (elite set and its alternative version with flames), but is that it? if you want to look cool your only option is to pay? plus, what's the point of leveling up if anybody with a thick wallet can look awesome from day one?

I think cool-looking gear should be made available only to characters above a certain level, money or no money. Moreover, it would be nice to see a decent number of cool sets to choose from.

Post some examples up of what your definition of cool is mate. Feedback like this is best when we have some examples of visuals.
Keeping in mind that we cant make armour to the point where it outshines the MTX as it will effect GGG income and of course the game development in general.

Are you talking about unique art or the more basic looking stuff?
I can understand your frustration as it is mainly a pride thing for players. If you reach that rank and level, you want the whole world to know by showing off the high ranking earned items. Whereas right now, anyone with money can buy the same armor and look just as cool. Maybe if GGG made a few new armor sets and restricted them to in game rewards for rank/lvl only. Not purchasable via coins.

That would solve the whole pride issue, as well as feeling like you have nothing to show for your playtime if a new player has the same gear.