Sony servers are restarting in:
They should be back up in approximately .

Quill Rain CoC - How Hard Does the Nerf Affect It?

I'm going to preface this by saying I'm pretty new to Path of Exile. If this ends up a stupid question, please bear with me. I'm considering a new build, and want more seasoned opinions before I start devoting hours of my life to another character.

I happened upon a Quill Rain, then found out about its synergy with CoC, and the builds based on it look like hysterical facerolling fun. That said, I also heard that CoC got nerfed in the recent patch (cooldown went from .01 to .05), and that seems to be what makes Quill Rain run. There doesn't seem to be much on how badly this would specifically affect a Quill Rain build out there yet, but to my untrained eyes, it looks like it could still theoretically work. But, well, would it?

I don't pretend to really know the math. The nerf sounds like an incredibly small change to me, but that's also only a fifth of the procs it could have provided before. Just how badly does a .04 cooldown difference hurt the build? Is it enough that any other not-quite-as-fast weapon can now accomplish the same thing as Quill Rain? Does it entirely break a build and I shouldn't bother? Does it just nerf it into "eh, it's alright" territory? Or is it still great?
Now, I can't be 100% sure without trying it, but if you used chain to get more hits with quillrain CoC the nerf was quite severe because of huge projectile speed bonus on it. If your targets are tightly packed, it would take less than 0,05 seconds for the arrow to travel from target to target, potentially mutilating your trigger count.

Without testing 'before' and 'after' this is the best I can do.
Wish the armchair developers would go back to developing armchairs.

◄[www.moddb.com/mods/balancedux]►
◄[www.moddb.com/mods/one-vision1]►