Suggestion: Gem Progression

Hi! My name is Kingemperor and I LOVE Path of Exile for many reasons, one being the awesome and variable progression system in the game. Even when I started playing in the beta, there were so many awesome different builds to play around with on the (at the time) five different classes. All of the different passive skill options as well as a variety of support gems and different build-defining uniques and rares allowed each player to customize a unique build.
However, I have always noticed the annoyingly linear progression system for each of the skill and support gems in POE. For example, when an Arc gem levels up, it gains a flat damage boost and every five or so levels gains the ability to chain to an additional target. By the time a gem reaches level 20, it is no different from any other gem of that type. Every 20/20 Arc gem is the same. I find that linear system to be incredibly boring and out of place in POE, since the game promotes massive variety in builds and allows players to make each character unique, down to how many projectiles an attack fires and whether or not it uses health instead of mana.