Mapping questions

Hi

I'm a relative newbie to mapping, and have a couple of questions on strategy... I have read (and is largely following) Lyralei's guide :-)

I'm using a flame totem build with mostly self-found equipment (apart from a Three Dragons helmet).

Q1: Map inventory management

The strategy I'm following goes like this:
1. Pick the map to run. Either L66, or a map I have more than 5 of. If the last, pick the highest level one.
2. If I have 8 or more of any particular map (after removing the picked one from the stash), vendor 3 of them for a higher level one.
3. Enhance the chosen map with whatever extra currency I have.
4. Run the map

This works well for me, and ensures I have a decent map base to work from. At the moment, I'm full (5 each) of L66, and almost full of L67/68. Higher ones should come in time.

However, it is also a fairly slow approach, so I wonder if anyone has any improvement suggestions.

Q2: Chisels from vendor recipe

Are people using the 20q Gavel + Map to get a chisel?
At my current level it doesn't seem sensible, but I guess it will be with higher level maps. For now, it seems like a better use for me is the 3 maps to 1 higher level map recipe.

Q3: How the *beep* do you handle devourers as a non-tank build?

If a map has devourers, I quite often give up on it. A boss-pack appearing below you is often instant death :-(
Last edited by Cyzax on Sep 21, 2014, 7:14:50 AM
I am not an expert on mapping...

A good read: http://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/339977

You may want to go to something like 8-10 maps of that level before moving "up". It reduces the chance of "dropping down". You can trade 3 of the same map for one map of +1 level, that is one way to get rid of some 66s.

I would not use anything but transmute, alt, augment until maps feel scarce. That should happen some way into the 70s. Finding Zana (twice) and doing her daily gives a map of usually level 70-72 that helps getting maps in that range.