[3.16] Wintertide Brand Occultist | League Start Viable

Hi guys !

Quick disclaimer before you read this guide, I need you to understand this is my very first attempt at a build guide so it’s probably gonna be missing lots of things and the build surely is far from min-maxed. I’m open to any suggestion and/or question and I'm not a native english speaker so please don’t roast me too hard. With that out of the way, let me introduce you to my take on Wintertide Brand as an occultist. I’ve tried to create a build with a good balance between offence and defence, not getting 1-shot in maps but still capable of cruising through T16 and handling its own in boss fights. This build is incredibly smooth to play and I think I did a good job with it.

So, is this build for you ?

Pros
-cold damage = nice chills for easier bossing and freezes while clearing
-great clear
-pretty tanky & ranged
-chill, freeze & stun immunity
-league start friendly
-guaranteed chaos res cap (as soon as you’re low life)
-very high investment possible
-great MTX

Cons
-brand playstyle (very polarizing)
-mediocre boss DPS

Showcase

Wintertide Brand
Spoiler
First of all, what is Wintertide brand ? Well, it is both a brand - as the name suggests - and a cold DOT intelligence spell skill gem.
If you’ve never played brands before, well the concept is just to summon a brand that will attach to an enemy and deal damage until the enemy dies or the brand duration ends. In theory you can only attach 1 brand per enemy, but the Runebinder keystone allows us to attach one more and Wintertide brand has a built-in copy of this affix, allowing us a total of 3 separate brands on a single enemy at the same time.