Crafting high Es shield

I'm relatively new to crafting gg gear and I just wanted some help on the methods I've been using.

I started by buying ilvl 84 items and arch/scour until I got stat's I was happy with. This worked quickly on a Es helm and was very cost effective. I only alched around 15 times and got a nice helm.

Next was the shield, I wanted as much Es as possible anything extra was a bonus. The problem is for the Es I'm after I need 3 prefixes, %Es, flat Es and %Es/stun recovery.

After 100 alchs I didn't get anything decent, so I decided to change method. I transmuted/alterated and augmented any suffix until I got a high tier prefix roll. Then regaled it. I was trying to get flat Es and %Es/stun recovery then craft %Es, because flat Es is only low from crafting and Es/stun can't be crafted. After I blew another 50c I realised this is not as easy as I thought.

Any advice in how to try and get those three prefixes. Do people even try to craft triple prefix gear?

Last bumped on Jun 27, 2016, 10:57:17 PM
I'v used the alteration spam on a bunch of shields but I'v never really hit the jack pot on the regal orbs. I think if your looking for a decent shield chaos spam should work about as good. It's probably cheapest to just buy a shield crafting can get really expensive. My trick is to just alch every good ES shield base I find and hope to get lucky. I generally alch 2-3 shields "worth" 2-8 Exalted orbs a league and maybe sell one of them and just use the others for my own characters. They are definitely my top item right now to yolo alch while mapping if I have extra alch.

Oh and you don't need max level item base for the yolo alch unless your trying to create mirror worthy loot. If your just looking for a 450 or so es shield you can use almost any good base you find in maps.
Last edited by CalamityAOE on Jun 26, 2016, 11:59:12 PM
Thats an idea, since im always mapping it would save me using all the scours.