[2.2] Taming of the CoC Sucker (Taming/Emberwake, Cyclone CoC Blade Vortex Ele Prolif Empires Grasp

Gameplay Videos

Passive Tree

poeurl.com/C66

Gear

+ Intuitive Leap

With the recent expansion, Ascendancy, we were given tools such as the Elementalist class that provides a much stronger alternative to the Elemental Proliferation gem, and with it we saw the rise of several Taming/Emberwake builds.

The Trickster class became the obvious choice for any Cyclone based Cast on Crit build. With a Vagan "Hits can't be Evaded" dagger you don't have to worry about Accuracy and now you can also say the same about Mana with the Trickster's "Movement Skills cost no Mana".

I studied these changes and this is the result of my intense theorycraft sessions:

THE TAMING OF THE COC SUCKER

This is going to be a Cyclone Cast on Crit Blade Vortex Assassin build, (ab)using the ranged weapon that is a 3-white socket Prismatic Eclipse, and the long-forgotten Support Gem Elemental Proliferation.

Essential to the build are these unique items:

We need Prismatic Eclipse white sockets to increase the Weapon Range of Cyclone, to suck more mobs into the system. Combined with Empires Grasp + Knockback on jewels, this helps stack up ignites very quickly. Taming + Emberwake is the core of the build; stacking ignites and the increased dmg per status effect combo.

Ascendancy

Assassin is the primary choice here, as it allows us to use two 5% base crit weapons on a crit build.

The build is essentially full functioning with only Normal and Cruel ascendancy passives Unstable Infusion, and Deadly Infusion. In Merciless I will pick up Toxic Delivery for more damage, but it's not really mandatory.

Skill Gems, Support Gems and Links

This is your main skill; chosen because of the innate increase in Attack Speed, the fact that it scales with Weapon Range as well as Area of Effect, and that it keeps you on the move at all times.