Behind the design of The Cloak of Tawm'r Isley

Behind the design of The Cloak of Tawm’r Isley.

In 2007, I started playing in a White Wolf Larp called One World By Night, a monthly Vampire: The Masquerade larp, that had chronicles in the US, Brazil, Israel, and New Zealand at the time. It was a campaign that has been running for over 20 years now, and after my first character died in late 2008, I created a Nosferatu named Tom O’Reilly.

I started playing and alpha-testing Path of Exile in mid 2010, and really enjoyed the game, seeing that the game had a significant amount of scope for diversity and replayability. At the end of 2010, our chronicle of OWBN left the global chronicle, and we converted to the New World of Darkness system, however at the time, my character was kidnapped and held hostage in Antarctica
During closed beta I purchased a Diamond Pack, but didn’t particularly care for what unique I was going to create. After Tom got rescued from Antarctica, and gradually became more playable, I decided that I wanted my unique to be based on the character that I had played for over 5 years by then.

In August 2014, I contacted the design team about the item I wanted – the signature item for my character was my cloak, so it seemed a fitting choice to design my unique around this.
Tom had mastered his in-clan disciplines of Vigour (Supernatural Strength), Animalism, and Obfuscate (a supernatural ability to hide), as well as having significant levels of Auspex (supernatural perception). He is also a lot closer to humanity than most vampires in the setting, and had many influences over the mortals within the city.

He’s also rather rich and maintains a network of underground safehouses scattered throughout the city in the sewers.