Can a shied/melee build compete

Okay so I have a Templar with max shield block, max tri res, and about 12k armor. Using a mace, I do about 30k damage with static strike. While not impressive, I figured this would be a cool build to try in PvP that can be somewhat all around build provided I change some skills/shield around depending on who I fight. If I'm fighting a spell cast, a quick shield swap grants me 75% spell block at the cost of 7k armor

I'm still new at this game, I believe it's been almost a month since I started it so my wealth ingame is limited as is my mechanics and knowledge of the game. With that said, it seems melee builds are at a huge disadvantage in this game. I find that I have to be the guy that needs to be more Tanky, still deal considerable damage if not similar damage to my opponent, must reach them to melee them, and have to put up with the most obnoxious defensive mechanics in the game
My problems
There seems to be attacks that despite blocking, you still take damage like explosive arrow and blast arrow
Defensive mechanics like frost wall means you can't continuously hit your target even if you reach them. Temporal chain slowing you, constant running, melee animation vs movement animation..etc
Damage discrepancies between ranged and melee, 75k blast arrow or blade fall hurts a lot more than 30k status strike.

With that said, I'm not comparing my built with a high tier build. I would say my built cost me about 6 exalts to make, even if I have an advantage, a 20exalt built will out perform me. In talking about similar cost builds or tier builds.

So in your opinion, are melee generally much harder to take wins in pvp or not? Also, do you have a strong melee build that uses mac block in pvp? If so can you link it for me?