[3.1] Volatile dead totems

This is my first time ever writing down a build I came up with, because mostly they don't work. This one does however so far, so I thought it might be interesting to see what suggestions people have for improvements.

The idea is simple enough:
- get totems to cast Volatile Dead
- get other totems to make sure there are corpses to explode using Unearth
- run around and try not to die

The build uses four totems, one extra comes from Soul Mantle and the other one from the Hierophant ascendancy.

Level 70 tactics:
Spoiler
I always start with a totem casting Unearth and then follow with one using Volatile Dead and then either two more Volatile Dead, or one Unearth and one Volatile Dead, depending on the number of monsters I'm facing. Somewhere in the middle an Orb of Storms is inserted for extra boom, because it applies Flammability and triggers Elemental Overload.

At the moment I always do one Unearth then three Volatile dead and the Orb of Storms. It's hard to see, but I think this gets the best screen melting results (and stuff in range offscreen is also dead).

Gear and tree level 70-ish:

Current gear and gem links, level 86. Mostly small upgrades, but also a 5-link Soul Mantle now, yay! I also tried Kaom's Roots, but I did not like how slow they made me.

Current skill tree, level 86

As said this is the first time I write something like this, so any suggestions are welcome.

Edit 21-12-2017: The character is level 86 now, updated gear and gem links and added current skill tree and tactics update.
Last edited by VeniVidiMorti on Dec 21, 2017, 3:29:10 PM
Last bumped on Jan 20, 2018, 2:27:37 PM
Hi

I had the similar build in my mind, so after some google search I found your thread. Also did some modification on my hierophant (4 frostbolt/freezing pulse spell totem) to test a similar build. He is now modified to put 2 x uneart and 2 x volatile dead totems at the same time.