New player, need some advice please

Hello everyone, so I just started playing path of exile. What drew me to it is to the insane customization you can do with your characters. I don't mind not playing the meta or having a harder time end-game. (I can make meta characters for all that.)

So all that out of the way I'm wanting to make a character that would kind of fit all these categories and am needing help, lol

-One-handed swordsman (no shield)
-Must have decent life regen
-"medium" armor or cloth, but the point is to be INNIT
-Must have some forms of magic, buffing himself or amplifying himself in some way

You could pretty much all this an RP character and if someone has a build that is somewhat similar to this already on the forums, you can always hit me with the "lern search noob". Thank you!
Last bumped on Mar 23, 2017, 2:04:46 PM
Hello and welcome to PoE. Firt of all I recommend you abandon all you know about classic character building in other ARPG games. Once you climb over the wall of death that is player unfriendliness in this game you will have load of fun. Now to your build.

You are doing it wrong. Somewhat right. Mostly wrong.

How builds are made in this game: