Mechanics of Players Recover Life etc. x% Slower

Okay okay. So before people go repost-bananas, I'd like to point out that I have in fact searched around a little, and have found different answers. Answers that conflict with my own personal experience too. So now I'd just like someone to tell me exactly how it works. Preferably GGG (In spite of quote further down)

Anyway - To the point:
The map suffix "of Smothering" states, as everyone knows, that:
"Players recover Life, Mana and Energy Shield x% slower"

Now I'm pretty new to running maps (and the game in general) but the suffix description doesn't seem to hold true, so I searched around a little and got this:

Link to thread
"
Mark_GGG wrote:
The only thing being changed is the speed of all recovery being halved - i.e. you recover half as much life/mana/ES per second as you otherwise would. For things like flasks, where there is a set duration they last, slowing the recovery means that less total recovery will occur in that duration, by definition. For all other forms of recovery, such as leech or regenerations, which do not have set durations, this does not occur.
Future upgrades to flask popups will allow them to account for such modifications form map mods/passives/gear, but for now they are only the item popup and thus can only know about the item's stats.

I've highlighted the interresting part because in my experience the latter simply can't be true either.
I normally run Blood Magic/Life Leech/Spectral Throw/Whatever just fine and get, theoretically at least, 7,6% of my ~4000dps returned as health which should more than cover my mana cost of 60 health.
But in Smothering maps, my leech is struggling to keep up. Even when I stop casting and let the returning blades do the damage. Now, it's not because I deal less damage because of hostile resists or anything. I've checked for that. I simply get less health.

Now, the wiki says this:
"
RECOVERY RATE