Too many deaths to be fun

I've been playing ARPGs since the original Diablo.
I spent many years playing D2, and then D3.
I've played Torchlight 1 and 2, Grim Dawn, and may other ARPGs.
What I'm saying is, I know ARPGs, they are almost exclusively what I play.
I enjoy POE, yet I hate it.
I really enjoy the game when I'm not dying. I rarely die in other ARPGs. I don't push high rifts in D3, as I really hate dying.
I've been playing POE on and off for a few years, and quite a lot in the past year.
I think I finally have understood how not to die *all* the time, but I just find the game very frustrating.
The recent changes for Betrayal seem to just be weirdly hard.
The encounters are difficult, and then around act 5 (if I remember correctly) the assassins start turning up, mid-fight with other mobs.
Is it just me that thinks this game is too hard for the average player?
I'm not clueless at these games. I have invested lots of time trying to understand what I need to do to survive longer. I always use builds from people that are known in the community, and always the beginner builds.
I'm about to give up this league, as I just can't take the deaths anymore.
I'm only at Act 7. My resistances are above 70% (and have been since the very start of act 6, as I overcapped them before the end of Act 5), my health is 1.5k (which I think is acceptable).
I'm mostly not dying on the boss fights as I know placement is very important in this game.
My characters DPS is stupid high (GC Miner).
But I keep thinking, "Maybe if I just avoid the betrayal fights" (which you can't for the assassins of course.)
I can accept the deaths before Act 6, but knowing I'm losing XP just makes it unbearable (terrible mechanic in my opinion).

It's frustrating, as I like playing the game....but I really hate dying. So I think I may just give up on this game, as I don't see my frustration getting any better from here on this league, and I probably won't come back again if I don't finish the league.