New player, looking for pointers and tips for Witch Character

I'm still relatively new to PoE, i haven't played much of it, so there are a lot of things i'm probably doing wrong, or just don't know about.

I've come here today, in hopes of looking for some tips or pointers on what i should be doing to better my lvl 39 witch class.

At the moment, i'm trying to spec into every passive skill that grants more lightning damage and actively looking for more gems to either introduce more lightning based skills or support gems that increase damage.

Doing this though, i have realized i'm a huge glass cannon, i cannot take much damage once my shield depletes, this doesn't bother me much though.

I saw that PoE has this neat little feature where you can show people your gear/passive skill tree, so heres that
https://www.pathofexile.com/account/view-profile/Surreal_Mist/characters

If your curious why i went down a certain path or i haven't explained something that'd help, feel free to ask.
Last edited by Surreal_Mist on Nov 16, 2018, 5:55:26 AM
Last bumped on Nov 16, 2018, 10:01:48 AM
I would suggest investing, at the moment, more on your defenses (life and +75% elemental resistances) over acquiring more damage. Branch out and move onto the life nodes... or energy shield if you prefer, but ES is harder to work with.

Monsters will become increasingly more difficult, and if you're dead you can't deal damage.
As Zphyr has said. You should invest to life in this phase.

Try to keep 300 life per act and building up your resistances.

You don´t really need to invest in many damage nodes with six link tabula.

Cruel preparation / Melding passives are close.

Try to fix your link though.

Summon phantasm is minion based skill that won´t boost your arc.
Put herald of thunder into other socket (besides body) and use spell echo + lightning penetration gems instead (control destruction is also a good choice).