Newbie questions on arc totem hierophant and mapping

Hi everyone,

I’ve been playing for about three months now and arc totems is my first char that doesn’t suck and that I actually really enjoy. I used the following guides as baseline, but didn’t follow them exactly (https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/2201648 and https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/2115624 ). I use e.g. two Kikazaru + self flagellation, since I’m a pretty lazy casual player and don’t like flask management.

I just cruise around with Quicksilver and some casual Conductivity + Arcane Surge and spam totems. And if I’m accidentally overwhelmed by mobs I use Flame Dash or CWDT+Phase Run to gtfo. I only use the other flasks and Vaal Haste (plus totem spamming until I have about 10 curses on myself) to prepare for bosses. So far it worked out really great and I took the char to red maps, but I have a three questions:

1) What am I supposed to do in maps? The Elder spawned on a random T8 map. I killed 2 of his guardians but nothing happened. I read in the forums that I only get the fragments if the elder is on a red map. But how can I move him there?
2) What am I supposed to do with the Shaper influence? Should I just try to defeat all of his strongholds? I defeated one of them, but again nothing really happened. Is there any other goal or quest in maps that I should be aware of or is it just casually running maps that I like?
3) Do you have any suggestions on how to further improve the char (besides upgrading gems to 20% quality, that is already planned)? I have a budget of about 7ex and thought about dual wielding void batteries or upgrading my boots with lightning enchant, but both options would pretty much eat up my whole budget for only a single improvement. So I was wondering if I could somehow get more bang for the buck. Here is the https://pastebin.com/AyYEcfQB .

Thanks in advance for your help!
Last bumped on Nov 19, 2018, 6:59:40 PM
"
Plauzinator wrote: