[Help] Couple newbie questions

I'm really new to PoE, I came from D3, decided to give PoE a shot and I'm loving it. I played for a couple days on Bestiary League and got to about lvl60. But now I'm getting pretty confused about some things (they are pretty random):

1) How do you know an item is good? Are there any stats that are good in general, like HP, DPS...?

2) How do you know an item is valuable?
I've seen a lot of videos of people flipping out when they get something but I just have no clue why that particular item is so good.

3) What do most people do in end game?
(I plan to play on the Incursion Softcore)

4) Whats the difference between a regular item and a corrupted one?

5) Any youtube/twitch channels I should follow to learn more?

6) What tip would you give for a new player?

Thanks for whoever can help : )
Last bumped on May 20, 2018, 11:59:34 PM
Hi friend,

Welcome to Wraeclast!

When it comes to which items are good / valuable - the two tend to go hand-in-hand - there really is no substitute for playing for a long time and trying a lot of builds. One thing which you can do is install a loot filter, which will hide some items it considers not worth looking at, and change the size / colour of item names it wishes to highlight as being particularly worthy of your attention.

Typically for newcomers I recommend the Semi-Strict filter by NeverSink with the Slick theme. Here’s a link. When you’ve extracted the files, you can throw the .filter file of your choice into the /Documents/My Games/Path of Exile/ folder and enable it in the game’s options menu.

The endgame in Path of Exile revolves around Maps. Some people try to do every Map in the game, some set themselves the goal of beating the Uber Elder fight, some people farm specific areas for currency (e.g. the Endgame Lab, Uber Atziri), and others focus on completing challenges to earn exclusive MTX. The challenges are a good way of setting goals, but some are very tedious.