I like the game, I hate the game. Looking for answers.

I have been playing the game for a few months on and off got one witch (summoner) to 80, new league got a new elementalist to 70 so far testing build to see what I like and works in game with that, have leveledboth in a little over a week as I got late starts in the leagues.

I will say part of my problems would be play style (I like to do all quests explore every inch of a map and collect treasure so portals back to town.)
and some build issues (being new testing builds out, not having enough to buy some items, learning crafting, and not doing builds like most do.)
Such as refusing to make my character into a rolling list of 1's and 0's based off nothing but stats but from a character immersion stand point would make no sense.

Playing this way is slower then a lot and it seems you lose xp as you out level the zones your going into even though I am not staying in a zone to grind my level up just following the content completing quests as given so my level should be close to the zone I am entering but is not so I get penalized for this ? Unbelievable.

I am beyond sick of the bait and switch tactics of the skill tree. The O look at all the skills you can have but O yeah we don't say it just look at 90% plus builds to see it's going to be made up of about 25% of those skills, load up on energy shield, life, resistance, and of course the like 5 or so mandatory skills because why wouldn't a glass cannon elementalist be using desecrate and doing things with the dead makes perfect character sense (eye roll, smh.) for a rolling min max stat pack character name 011001010.