People complaining about trade have no clue how good they have it.

I don't know how many of you played diablo 2, but I'm what you could call a 'veteran' I suppose even though I started playing diablo 2 near the tail end of the game's life cycle i.e. 1.10 after runewords like enimga were introduced.

There was no website like poe.trade where you could type the name of an item, mods, or anything of that nature to trade other players. Do you know how we used to trade?

There was a public game list which was called something like 'USA Trade 1' in which up to 7 people could join the game, and when you joined, you had to have all items you wanted to trade in your inventory and open a trade request with another player 1 on 1.

When they accept, you literally click on each item in your inventory and move it into the trade window. If they thought anything was good or something they wanted you'd get an interaction like this:

Buyer: WUW (What u want) for that item?

Seller: WUG (What you give)?

And then the seller would start dropping his garbage into the window, or give a price in runes and negotiation would occur.

This was a long, tedious and extremely inefficient process, but I still loved it because it was fun to try to barter/find good deals.

After your 1 on 1 w/ one player, you'd go to the next guy and start all over again. After this, you'd leave the game and join 'USA Trade 2' and start all over trying to trade-up on items and hopefully have more than you went in with when the day started.

The first time I started playing POE, I was blown away by poe.trade, and I still think it's a great system. I never played D3, but I heard about it and I think the entire idea of an auction house is cancer.