What happen to my legacy char when fall of oriath relases?

Hi All,

I am new to POE, i am currently playing legacy league and i am level 78. can someone tell me what happens to my item and character when the new update releases? Do i have to replay the game from the beginning or i can continue from merciless. Moreover, what happen to my items and currency's? i am currently playing Energy shield build so do i have to respeck my skillpoints if they nerf ES, or will GGG give enough respeck points to re-arrange my passives? or nothing will happen to my old char? only if i go to new update mode or something then it will get effect?

Last bumped on Jul 23, 2017, 1:09:15 PM
When Legacy ends (which will happen before the release of Fall of Oriath), your characters, stash tabs, etc from Legacy will all be merged into Standard. Fall of Oriath will come with new leagues, and to play those you'd have to make a new character and start from scratch. However, you can continue using your existing characters in Standard if you would prefer. All the expansion content will also be available to you, with the exception of whatever unique twist the new leagues have. It's currently unclear how all the new stuff will work with existing characters, but expect more details of that closer to release.

Also, every major content patch grants all characters an optional full respec.

Have you done something awesome with [url=http://pathofexile.gamepedia.com/Sire_of_Shards]Sire of Shards[/url]? PM me and tell me all about it!
I do not fully agree.

You dont get a "optional full respec", which would mean you can choose if you want to allocate your skill points new or you leave it like it is.
What i expect is a change in the Skill tree, what results in a mandatory "full respec", meaning you still have all your points but they are not allocated anymore, you have to allocate them.