Pretty New Players, and build recommendations

My girlfriend and I started playing Poe about 2 weeks ago. We're having lots of fun and want to have 2 characters that we only play when we're partied together (Since our current ones got a rather large level difference since I have no life) She will be playing this build https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/1613456/page/1 and I was wondering if anyone has any recommendations for me that will work well with hers. I prefer casters but I'm open to anything that i can hold my own with but still be able to support her. Thanks guys.
Last bumped on Aug 24, 2016, 7:53:27 AM
I might recommend that she doesn't play the build you linked? There is no way you can get gear like that in 2 weeks. Unless you already realize you'll be playing a budget version of it -_-

Setting that aside, let's say she gets the build online in all of it's glory. The problem I frequently run into when playing with just one other person is that if one person is powerful (in this case she's near immortal and doing 300k AoE dps), you're gonna have a hard time finding a mob to kill no matter what you build. Unless you build a sick bow user, and kill stuff off screen before she sees it. In which case she would then be in the hypothetical predicament I just laid out for you. :o

So if you're ok with that scenario, then you can build literally anything. But there are two ways to be useful while being otherwise useless. You can build a magic find character that utilizes 'culling strike' support gem to 'snipe' boss kills from her, resulting in big loot explosions.

or

Build an 'aura bot' Templar and support her with useful auras and defenses (you can still tack some magic find onto this and use something with culling strike).

If these concepts sound foreign you can ask and I'm sure someone will explain in more detail.