New player, some advice about trading?

Hello all.

I am very new to PoE, and games like it, having picked it up only earlier this month. I'm definitely enjoying myself and I've got a character up to level 72 now. But trading... oh heavens. It's very intimidating. I know nobody's going to teach me all the ins and outs and I'm not going to just 'get' it immediately, but I was hoping somebody might advise me on a couple things.

So here's my question(s):

- I know that trading is essential to progress in late game. Do I need to set up a shop in order to be productive, or can I simply grind currency and trade it for the gear I need?

- Also, if I do set up a shop, can anyone recommend some guidelines or advice for choosing what gear to sell?

I'm not interested in being the richest man in PoE, or making the top of the ladder, I just want to have some wealth to work with and get some nice gear that is reasonably competitive.

Thanks for your time and help!
Last bumped on Jul 24, 2016, 2:11:55 PM
Hi Epitaph,

Welcome to Path of exile!

Regarding your questions:

- It is definitely much more productive to setup the shop, only grinding currency could work but is lot more grinding. I would recommend definitely setting up the shop.

- Pricing in PoE is not easy to get into, it depends on how well the item is rolled, what build can use it, which is the most hip build atm, and such. Playing many different builds sure helps in understanding this. But for starters, I would recommend using below site, just press ctrl + c in game while mouse pointer over the item, and paste in the text box, it'll show similar items current prices and recommended price.

http://poeprices.info/#pricesingleitem

On a side note you might wanna join a guild the experienced members can help a lot. You might wanna check out our guild, below is the link:

https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/1691321

Have fun out there!