Need help with build/gear to clear maps

I've got some maps, done 2 so far and I'm getting decently wrecked every time. I started this templar thinking that I would be able to facetank stuff endgame.

I tried a map today, cleared it to about 70% of the content before I was out of portals. All the time, I had to "lure" patches of mobs to cleared rooms, pop rejuvenation totem and molten shell, enfeeble them and kill them. Right now, I feel more like a squishy ranged than a full tank melee. Having to kite and send volleys of LS.

I'm still new to the game and it's mechanics etc, so I have no idea if my gear is good/bad etc. This is what I'm using currently:

Sitting at 2k armor, 80% allres, 2k hp, 1k ES. 4k dps with LS, ~3k dps with dual strike.

I'd like to think that I'm decently geared with decent stats, but it seems like rerolling to a ranged would be the way to go for me. Or rerolling to a caster templar. Because melee/facetanking sucks at the moment. 4-5 ranged and I'm blown to bits.
Last edited by ibex on Feb 17, 2013, 3:59:41 PM
well, unfortunately as of now, u cant "tank" in this game at all, which really bugs me. I made several characters with different builds, that basically was suppose to go full defense. Even with 100% nodes that were defensive oriented, i couldnt tank 5 mobs in act 3 mercilles :D.
I really like facetanking, i hoped it would be possible, to clear content at slow and systematical pace, but right now either u go full offense, and drop totem every 2 sec hoping it will hold til u kill the monsters, or go ranged dps/hp balance and kite stronger mobs for 10 minutes.
We failed once, We failed twice, We must fail again!

WE'll b@ng ok?
Well tanky chars are pretty needed atm. But you are right it's not easy peayy to construct smth to be a worthy melee char which can stand its man.

Up to how many endurance charges you get with that armor?