Learning C++ programming language

"
SkyCore wrote:
Not to long ago i thought id learn python. 10 minutes later looking at example code i saw like 3 or 4 colons which all meant different things because of their context. Then and there i was like, 'nope'. Ill stick to languages that are actually human readable.

Java is the ideal beginner language imo.
I'm struggling to work out if you're joking or not. Python is much, much more human-readable than Java for people just starting to learn programming, and that's one of it's strengths.

I earned extra cash teaching in the computer science labs and tutorials at my university both during my degree and after I graduated, for 1st through 3rd year papers, and was employed as a research assistant helping to run our part of an international study into how people learn to program.

I was one of the lab demonstrators the first year the department introduced an optional python paper to be taken before the previous introductory paper, which used Java, and demonstrated that paper the next semester. The students who'd gotten to learn programming in python first before having to deal with all java's peculiarities and obnoxious boilerplate in general did a lot better than those in the same year who hadn't taken the python paper, and those in the previous year who hadn't had the option.

If someone was dead-set on learning Java specifically, I wouldn't stop them, but I wouldn't recommend it as a first language for someone learning programming, because leaning Java as well as learning programming increases the stuff you have to take in, and sometimes new programmers can't separate the two particularly well.

Basically, having to learn this (extra spacing because I can't make the tabs work):
"
public class HelloWorld {

public static void main(String[] args) {

System.out.println("Hello, World");

}

}
Is a lot trickier than this:
"
print( "Hello, World")