what am i doing wrong?

Hello! Sorry if this is a noob question, I just started playing... I'm level 57 with 1.2k health, 11 energy shield, and 4345 evasion rating with a 52% chance to evade attacks. I'm having difficulty staying alive. I've been grinding for better gear forever and I'm not coming across anything remotely better. I'm about to add some mods to my current gear what is the best thing to add? Energy shield? More hp? More evasion? tia!<3
Due to a recent global change by GGG, we are unable to view your character's gear, so I will have to speculate. If you want more specific suggestions after reading this, click on your account name - click privacy settings - uncheck "Hide Characters" - then click update.

-Aim for 2k (3k even better) life before fighting A4 in cruel. Acquire this by getting +hit points on every piece of armor and jewelry and/or pickup more life nodes in the passive tree.
-Get resists as high as possible (they cap @ 75%). This will dramatically lower your damage taken.
-If monsters are able to swarm you before you can kill them, you probably need a weapon upgrade. If you are a physical attack character, try to get a weapon with both a 100%+ physical damage and a +x-y physical damage mod.
-To get the gear mentioned above, you will probably have to purchase it using poe.trade, a website that serves as the auction house for this game.
-Buy and use a decoy totem gem from the vendor. Thing is ridiculously useful.

If you want comments on your passive tree, you'll have to change your privacy settings. My characters are available to view; all my rangers are bow characters that would probably serve as good examples for you.

Best of luck!
Last edited by Glowstix on Sep 4, 2015, 3:04:12 PM