Newbie Questions

Hi everyone.. I'm really sorry to ask something that is probably trivial to all of you, but I have been searching and all the answers seem very old. I just wanted to check in.

I just started playing yesterday and the game seems insanely fun. I'm itching to get out of work and put in more time. My concern is that I already made poor decisions with my first character. Though I don't care, I just want to experience some of the game first.

- I made a shadow
- I'm using cold spells (a wave that shoots forward and a targetable aoe)
- I'm taking +elemental damage / +spell damage / caster nodes

After looking through some information on the website, I am afraid that this is horribly inefficient. It looks like shadow should be more melee/ranged physical based instead? As I said, I just want to at least make it through the game once before worrying too much.

Do all these things work together at least? Assuming those two spells I'm toying with.

- elemental damage
- cold damage
- spell damage
- intelligence/mana/regen etc..

Thank you in advance. Hope to meet some people in game some day.
You made a good choice, a Shadow is well-suited for projectile spells because of easy availability of projectile speed passives which are very important for most such builds. Beating the campaign with spells is also easier and cheaper as progressing with an attack build means getting decent weapons, and those usually have to be bought from other players. On the other hand, caster defenses are currently harder to pull off so it needs extra effort to get a foothold in endgame.