New Templar looking for advice

Hey guys, I am pretty new to POE but have years of D2, D3, WoW and other MMO / Dungeon Crawler games, so I should be able understand responses. I apologize for terminology.

I am looking to create an elemental / melee character. I sometimes run into half second lag spikes so tanky is certainly the way to go. I spent quite a bit of time looking at builds and while they looked fun and clever, none of them really hit the nail on what I was looking for. I created one myself that would exemplify being lvl 81. This isn't 100% tanky since I do want to be some sort of damage threat.

I intend to use things like static strike / frozen hammer with multistrike / melee splash + harolds for most of my skills.
I also intend to Use Curse on Hit with Warlords for life/mana gain
I will find some sort of defensive combination on damage taken, but I havent decided which one I like yet.

The build I came up with:

Spoiler

http://www.pathofexile.com/passive-skill-tree/AAAAAgUAAecEhwSzBjkM9w3NFCAUTRT2GJEZ6Ro4Gj4b-hzOJIsl3ycvKCopLitQMk4yiTSOOlI6nT0PQKBDY0PIRtdPBE99UEdRYFcpV-JeE18_YJFgxGFSaPJr2XFNcYVyqXasd-V5OXy4fNl-4oBWgpuFUoY7hmCLT4x2j5mQVZd5ms-bap48ns2iAKQZpzCplayvrY2vbLFCtiy3MbyfwBrAZsC_xPbPftlh4XPkUeSt6dXqGOw47SDvDu9O8B_yL_MG8xH3Mvuq_Ev-VA==

Looking for any veterans out there to give advice, even taking a dump on it is perfectly acceptable as long as you give reasoning that can be used to improve.

I see other builds really reaching far for their passive skills, do I take anything unnecessary that might impede getting a stronger skill later?

There are a few things I noticed I would personally change in your build.
Firstly, testudo and retaliation (shield nodes at the bottom) are too far out of your way. You spend too many points to get them without getting anything else in the immediate area.