What's the purpose of a "closed beta" ?

I'm a little new to the beta stuff but why make a closed beta then make it into an open beta when you can just start off with an open beta? Is there a specific purpose to the closed beta?
The main reason is that they need to moderate the number of players that can be on the server at once. If they opened it to the entire public, the servers would most certainly crash. This way the ease people in over time so they can keep everything stable and enjoyable.

Open beta is when they have all the game features worked out and just want to stress test the servers. By calling it "open beta" they can just let the servers crash and then fix them without people getting pissed at the developers for releasing a broken game. Since it's technically not a released game.

Clever I know.

ohh okay. yeah i was kind of figuring that,that was the purpose for the closed/open beta. because when i was playing the battlefield 3 open beta for the 360, the servers would continuously crash and what not. so a stress test for the open beta would make a lot of sense.
but even when i was playing the PoE beta on a friends account, the game seemed really good, had some kinks as every beta will. but i was most definitely satisfied and very addicted -.-
Yeah it's a lot of fun. The fact is though that they are adding a ton of content to the final game that you aren't seeing right now.

You merely played a demo of the final game. It's gonna be great.

And yeah I was in the BF3 beta too. Omg that game had problems. So far after logging about 12-15 hours in PoE it has only crashed on me once. The servers were down for like 10 seconds. That's the benefit of a closed beta. Much more stability.