New To Beta First Impressions

Hi all. I'm still very new to the beta but thought I might give some first impressions of the game. Its not going to be a technical thread, more a feel thread. BTW, I am a noob, and have only owned computers for 3 years.

Not being the most experienced of gamers out there, I dont have too many other games I have played to compare this with, so i'm not going to bother. Allegory has never been of too much intrest to me, as I would rather judge something on its own merits rather than constantly look for comparisons (though I will still do so from time to time(( I am human after all))).

On initially logging into the game I was struck immediately by the character selection screen and dark atmospheric music. Each character when selected coming forward to show off his/hers animations felt like trying to pick which sweety in the shop I fancied today. It made my selection difficult. I settled on the duelist, probably because I secretly would like to be the duelist in real life (The honourasble scoudrel, who comes across as a bad boy who gets all the ladies ((I wonder where I got that fantasy from. hmm.... I think you can all guess))).

On entering the game world. Lying down in the wash on the darkly atmospheric beach, My duelist stood up clicked on the icon next to me and "Wham" i'm in combat XD. After punching my enemy to death (oh the brutality of it all, yay), I pick up the weapon next to me and then start on a ten minute rampage through the beach killing monsters and looting there corpses until I found myself face to face with the first boss. After dispatching mine enemy, I make my way into the shoreside town. The town seems to be the main hub for the game, where you can make deals with vendors and pick up any quests that may be around.