Boss fights - general tactics

Hi,

I just started playing PoE as a LA/frenzy ranger. Managed to beat Normal yesterday but I need some tips on how to get through the harder difficulties. I was level 41 and had about 1200 hp. Basically, whenever there is a boss fight I just ran around the pillars and threw fire trap until the boss died eventually. If i die, i had a portal ready to bring myself back to the fight. Obviously this won't work on cruel and beyond because I'd lose experience each time I died. Are we expected to "tank" bosses or is there a smarter way to fighting them?
Which build are you working on? Are you evasion-based with Ondar's Guile and Acrobatics? Iron Reflex/Unwavering?

Also, how much life do you have? How are your resistances? Life and high if not max resistances make progress much easier, and are essential as the game progresses.

I find the evasion build to be a natural with bow ranger, since we do our damage from a distance, keeping distance seems the most logical choice. Also, there are many nasty ranged attacks in this game, and being able to almost ignore them is pretty sweet. Once you get used to kiting and maintaining range, you'll find yourself moving constantly, which keeps you from standing in things like poison clouds and fire, and is a fun, active playstyle.

Standing still in POE after normal is a very good way to die a lot, and you'll soon sour on the game.

And don't limit yourself to LA/Frenzy. Although they are two of my favorite attacks, I keep explosive arrow, barrage, and poison arrow leveled up as much as I can, because I find uses for them in certain situations. Barrage is a nice boss pounder.
Last edited by mackdaddieab on Mar 30, 2014, 11:53:25 PM