AoE dps witch build, for parties

I'm pretty new to PoE. I'm interested in making a witch that can do a good amount of AoE dps. Buffing (like auras) is a secondary consideration. I'll be partying with a couple-few other friends at all times on my witch (of which at least 2 of them will be frontliners), so I'm looking for a build that emphasizes offense a bit more and less on CC and defense than a typical solo build.

I've gone through the first 10 or so pages of the forum. From what I've managed to gleam, fire does the most damage (though that's DoT reliant, so in a party that's chewing through mobs quickly that's probably less useful), lightning seems to be a more middle ground, and ice is the best due to its CC and utility. Though I'm looking for an element and build that's more about AoE and burst damage. Is lighting what I should be looking at? Or is the utility of cold too good to pass up, even in a group?

I've never liked minions in games. If possible, I would like to pass up on summoning, managing, and maintaining any minions. Will this cripple me?

Could someone suggest some must-get skills I should aim for?
Any ideas?

Maybe even which side of the tree I ought to put my first point in :D?
I would recommend a hybrid build between AoE and single target.
Even if you play in a party, there are still some mobs that you will have to take on yourself, such as ones with flicker. On harder difficulties, when you die you lose xp, so relying on an ally to take hits for you while you channel a spell, is not something you want to do.

If you want to go complete AoE, you need to go into summoning, otherwise you can not defend yourself effectively.

Fire is quite usless atm, so I would say lightning or ice. I prefer ice.
The 3 spells I use are coldsnap (AoE), Ice Spear(Single target, better the farther they are away), and Freezing pulse(AoE and single target)