Viper Strike + Melee Splash DoT

Short introduction.
I'm new to the game with 110h of game time and just got the sudden urge to create an own build.
It's far from being finished since I just thought of the genral idea, which nodes do I take how the playstyle is going to be etc.

As main skill I'd use Viper Strike + Melee Splash + Increased Duration, so the chaos damage DoT from Viper Strike applies to several targets. Basically I'd just jump in to the middle of a pack, with Phase run for example, apply the DoT, draw back and apply it again if necessary. Also I'd either use Vulnerability or Temporal Chains to support the skill.
To strengthen my survivability while being in the middle of a pack I'd also use Enduring Cry, Auras(Purity of Elements, Vitality, Grace+Iron Reflexes)

In case of the skill tree I'd go for Iron Reflexes on the way to it life and resistences and split my path from there to reach "Growth and Decay" and "Corruption", since Viper Strike can be support by those nodes in DoT matter.
I'd also go for Hexmaster(Not sure if needed) grab again life, resistances and nodes which support auras(less reserved etc.)
In the end I'd also go for increased duration nodes, but I didn't take those in thought yet.

For the equipment I would go for a claw(the life gain on hit seems beneficial for survivability) and a evasion/armour shield. The rest of the gear should be either armour or evasion or both and have effects which increase the effect of viper strike or/and increase my chance not to die easily.
Didn't thought about any Uniques, I'm sure there are good ones for this case,but it's still on my list.

I created this thread so you could give me advices, tipps and suggestions, how to expand/improve my build and to tell my how viable it could be.

kindest regards.
Skill tree