weird / wrong dmg calculations with leveled support gems ?

Hi,

i'll take the risk to make myself a complete idiot , but i dont get the calculations behind support gem's that first reduce the damage by a fixed amount and then add x% dmg when you start leveling them.

my example here is the Fork suport gem

when i started playing a couple of months ago, i took a fast look at the description of the gem, wich say's: projectile dmg is reduced by 20%, arrows fork, each level of the gem gives 2% projectile dmg. so i thought when the gem hits level 11 the bonus and malus will even out and never looked at it again, until i lately started to experiment with setups.

having a level 14 Fork gem with 26% add projectile dmg linked to my burnig Arrow, i noticed that i still had around 10% less dmg then without Fork.
okay i thought my bad, the calculation has to be: reduce the dmg by 20% and then give the bonus based on the 80% value, but that does'nt matched the numbers again. at 26% add dmg it should give slightly more dmg, even from a 20% lower starting point.

so now iam clueless, either the calculation is wrong or much more complicated, at least the description is missleading

could someone plaese lighten me up ?

Ingame dmg calculations and numbers:
Spoiler

Starting Value: Burning Arrow level 15 without linked gems and auras, but with equipp (Armor and Gear) is at 926.3 DpS, with level 14 Fork (+26%) its at 825.6 DpS

my first thought how the calculation looks like was:

(DpS/100 x 80) + (DpS/100 x 26) = 741.04 + 240.80 = 981.84 way off so most likely wrong ;)

my second thought was:

(DpS/100 x 80) + ((DpS/100 x 80)/100 x 26) = 741.04 + 192.7 = 933.74 still way off...

last guess i have is that the first step (-20%) reduces projectile dmg completely , but the second step (+26%) only counts for physical dmg, but iam too tired now to calculate this

ps.

is there a thread here in the forums with a description how to link ingame items into posts ?