[UI] Always Highlight Allocated Items

Introduction
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

Recently three of my characters hit 70 and I started playing with random groups. First thing I noticed when partying is, that the amount of item labels on the screen is literally killing me. Especially white items. Also, groups are fast and generally don't like people who can't keep up, so reading through all the items is not an option.

This is nothing new. The screen being flooded by item labels has been an annoyance for some time now. With patch 0.11.0 some changes to the Loot System were introduced, to combat part of the problems which had emerged over time.

Now some of you may ask, "What is so special about that, riddie? Isn't this just part of the normal game development progress?" With Path of Exile, it's actually a pretty delicate matter. Grinding Gear Games has always been catering their game to players inclined to the more hardcore experience.

"
Wraeclast is a dark, brutal continent. Scarred by mysterious catastrophes of the past and inhabited by creatures of nightmare, the very environment challenges exiles who dare explore it.

We're sick of the recent trend towards bright, cartoony RPGs. The art style we chose for Path of Exile is dark, gritty and realistic. Wraeclast is terrifying, and we've tried hard to do it justice.
This quote is of course about the artwork but you get the general idea.

I started playing in early August 2012, and since then GGG has been very reluctant indeed, to make the game more casual friendly. For which I am very thankful, because my worst nightmare would actually be PoE becoming just another generic D3/Torchlight clone. So, what finally forced this change to the Loot System?