Need help with my marauder build

Hi.

I started playing PoE very recently and I have to say I really enjoy it. I picked marauder because I really liked barbarian in D2 and I wanted to start with a rather simple class/build.

I have been advancing quite fast, with a death here and there. But now, near the end of ruthless, I just realize my build has too many problems. I don't even want tot think about merciless at the moment. Level 49 marauder.

I've been trying to implement something like the build described in this http://www.pathofexile.com/classes/marauder/view-thread/44201, but I'm having trouble.

That build seems well rounded, but my gear is just too bad to make it work. I'm unable to defeat any of the 3 bandits on ruthless. Oak 2-3 hit kills me.

My skill tree:
http://www.pathofexile.com/passive-skill-tree/AAAAAQEAANTk5gHOOIsCZSqGB2uU1Qe-sDIPSLviEMKVMxcVF9YbARdeIP7-jiaTIz8pGeMTKYbAjyvNx0MvFBsJNDa1ajSoAXk3lwhEPSQAtT0qvvhDPcasU09swlR55wBYlVByYXE2U3WdGsR4TQG6fduJLomDkySaWAlQojeodqh2tD2qQzF8qkgB86qU2uOsoUrBrcPaMbnWRGG7r9-gwSqz1MoBrn3NsSBXz4Pdes_uHWfRND3X1IvEq9WMg_TWKw-43wMV1OZRY7PmkKRw8G7nL_Ft-6b2JrLO9_SbKPylNRQ=

My gear(I know it's bad):

Unavailable

Got this in exchange for a unique pair of slippers. Was using mace beforehand, but this sword just did so much more damage than my mace. I plan to use mace again, when I can find something better.

Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable

Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable

Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable
Unavailable

Stats:
default attack: 785 dmg
lightning strike: 1122
heavy strike: 1800

chance to hit 88%
Armour: 2k:
damage reduction: 42%
fire/cold/lightning resistance: 75/65/75%

Lightning strike is my main attack. I use faster attacks, lightning strike, blood magic and life gain on hit.

Combination must look very stupid (and it is), but it's the best I've come up with so far. I'm at 80%+ health if I run into a cluster of mobs and just use lightning strike.