Someone help me understand this game please!

Hey guys so as you can tell by the title I have NO idea what I'm doing. I just started playing today. And I thought all you need to do is add passive skills that make sense and random gems in your weapon and armors, but apparently that's not the case. You add passive skills for the build you want your class to be, and gem for the moves that suit your class and build. But i dont know any good builds or what gems to use for classes and builds. I was wondering if someone wants to explain how to play through typing it or ventrilo or skype or something. If you can help me out with all this shit i would really appreciate it.
Necro Templar :)
You can occasionally ask global chat for random advice, but be aware you'll only get an actual answer about half the time.

Let me see if i can break the more complex overall stuff down for you :
The character you pick only affects where you start on the passive skill tree, not what weapons or armor you can use. What affects that is stats, which, confusingly enough, ARE affected by where you start on the tree, confused yet?

there are 3 main stats : Strength, Intelligence, and Dexterity.

each of the 3 stats has an "area" of the skill tree that is more or less focused on that stat. There are also character classes that are called "hybrids" since they start in between two different stat areas of the tree.

It breaks down like this:
Marauder : STR
Templar : STR/INT
Witch : INT
Shadow :INT/DEX
Ranger :DEX
Duelist :DEX/STR

Those of us who have played a long time like to plan out our builds beforehand, so we know going in what class we want to play with what weapon type, and generally what skills we are going to use. Let's try and break down some skills for you.