Newcomer: On Builds and skill gem reliabilty

Hello all. I'm quite new to this game and only played during the last public stress weekend. I have a question on builds and gems, and specifically how to reliable make a certain build.

First, I like this system of skill gems and web of passive skills, since it allows for some decent multi-classing. However, it seems to me that the random dropping of skill gems makes it harder to effectively create builds.

For example, comparing to Diablo 2; when you level up, you gain skill point, and invest them in the skills you need. Of course, in PoE, you can also choose which skills you want by picking which gems to use, but these are random drops (or quest rewards), making it a game of chance whether or not you get the skills you need/want. Of course, player trading could lessen the problem, but there is still some element of chance left.
Last edited by Harath on Jun 3, 2012, 2:55:57 PM
You get most to all gems from Questrewards.
Its just a Question of "when/what time" you get them.
You can beat the game with non-quality gems.
If you want gems with quality, yes sou´ll need to find&trade them.
Make it a tiny element of chance and it will fit better.

Now in a Ladder-Rush envoirment, this tiny element of finding the correct Skillgem for your playstyle, makes the whole war more entertaining.
But that doesn´t mean that you will be the only person with the luck to find "his fitting skillgem".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcKqhDFhNHI
Could it be possible to start the game off with your choice of a low tier gem nothing OP but a wider range of gems like I started a dueler and have not found a blue gem yet lvl 10 but so you could start off on the right track so to say?
I have to disagree with Lachdanan. I feel there's a huge element of chance when it comes to aquiring skill gems. Especially, your first go or if you're trying to build a little out of the norm.