Concerned about the cut-throat league.

Hi

First, let me start with some background story about me.

I started playing MMO with UO, when I was a teenager. I played pre-trammel. It was Free for all PVP, with full loot. UO at that time was honestly the most fun I had in an MMO. The fact that the game was "full loot" made the PVP relevant and exciting. It made having friends you could trust much more important. You had to chose your friends carefully. Then, trammel happened, UO got changed, meh.

After that I played a bunch of different games, trying to get my PVP fix. One I liked particularly was EVE online, but the sci-fi theme bored me rather quickly. (Sad, I know)

So, I have been (for pretty much 10 year now?) looking for a game to replicate this "feeling" of danger that UO had. The constant need to stay on your toes when you meet someone new. The adrenaline rush when you attack someone. The joy of killing a player and wondering what kind of loot you will get. Also, the anger and frustration of getting killed and loosing everything.

So, this is where I come from. You'll understand that I LOVE pvp and I LOVE full loot. However, I'm concerned about the cut-throat league. Player looting worked in UO because equipment was easily replaceable. Everything could be easily crafted or bought for a reasonable price. Loosing your stuff was bad, but not a major setback.

And anyway, equipment didn't even really matter too much. It helped, but all you had to get was a weapon and you could be back in the fight, wearing only your "rez robe" that provided less protection than a wet paper bag. And if you were good you still had a chance to kill that guy that was in full-plate.

That's why it worked. To make it simple, it had loot but :
1) Equipment was not too important
2) Equipment could be replaced easily