Cruel and higher difficulty tips?

Okay so I've never posted on these forums before but I would just like to know if its really worth it making a full melee marauder if I intend to play merciless difficulty etc. I've been reading a bit on the forum and from what I hear its particularly difficult to play effectively when going melee. I know it is possible but I would just like to ask some tips for confronting the higher difficulties with EXP and resist penalties etc.

Any specific passives I should be looking out for?

Specific mods to gear?

An overall different mentality about playing melee opposed to ranged?

I'm really new to the game and I have just gotten into cruel and it isn't very bad so far. Merciless is a completely different monster according to the forums and I would honestly hate to have to scrap a character that is this fun to play. Melee is generally more fun to play I find its just my ranged characters seem to have such an easier time dealing with enemies.

Also being this new to the game I would like to ask some perhaps out of place generalized questions for this forum.

Do gems have a level cap?

I use Blood Magic. Do Blood Magic builds use auras often? Like auras that cost %Mana(Health for Blood Magic users right?)

Blue or Magic items have the prefix and suffix clearly stated but do the names of the rare(yellow) items correspond to the mods they have or is it just a bit randomized?

Sorry about the long post and the bombardment of questions but I'm just a newbie trying to understand the game better.
Last edited by GunninGamer141 on Mar 31, 2013, 3:09:38 AM
"
Any specific passives I should be looking out for?

Get extra endurance charges, around 300% increased HP, Iron Reflexes, HP regeneration, Elemental Adaptation, Unwavering Stance, skip most of the damage nodes. Super simplified for your reading pleasure.

"
Specific mods to gear?