Lagspike experience on EU/Frankfurt last night

Hello and good morning from germany.

As I started experiencing lagspikes for a couple of days now I started to do some researching.

First of all, here is a pastebin from yesterday evening (CEST+2) Frankfurt server: https://pastebin.com/JHyuTkyb

I was playing and streaming for ~3 hours while WinMTR was running. Of course both targeted on same server - Frankfurt EU.

The first 1-1.5 hours were without any problems until at ~9/9.30pm the first lagspikes did occur. WinMTR started to show packetloss and ping numbers started to rise.

As I work in IT myself and after consulting some network admin colleagues while looking at my pastebin result we can tell you: it's neither my or my ISPs problem.

Even the hop from my ISP to your first entrypoint is good. Then the problems start. Of course we can not tell you what the problem is but it clearly shows, that one or maybe two of your 5 endpoint servers has issues that need investigation.

Side note: before I even started playing/streaming I ran WinMTR on other EU servers to figure out where to play and both Paris and Milan had already issues before I even logged into the game. I chose Frankfurt as it had zero issues for the pre-gaming WinMTR run (every run for ~15mins).

I hope this helps figuring out the issues reported over the last days and solving it for us :-)

Thanks for reading,

kind regards,
Carnivorus
That's what I do. I drink beer and I stream things ;)

www.twitch.tv/carnivorus_
Last bumped on Sep 20, 2018, 8:47:27 AM
I think you need to get some new network admin colleagues... the winmtr clearly shows packet loss starting at the very first hop that is being propagated through the whole route (so it is definitely not just ICMP deprioritization).

The problem is 100% starting on your side. There may be some additional packet loss when it reaches the first static.sl-reverse node - but impossible to tell until the nodes before that are cleaned up.