Life Leech bug?

There seems to be something strange going on when I use Blood Rage and have life leech, it seems to lower my max life. Now I'm fairly new to the game so I'm not sure if this is actually a bug or I'm missing something so please let me know if I'm somehow causing it.

I've included three different clips of it happening below, basically what happens is as life leech is healing me it gradually lowers my max life and I can only heal up to that arbitrary cap. Not even life flasks do it. This is usually manageable because eventually it does reset back to max life or near enough to max life. But sometimes my life gets capped so low that I have to keep healing with flasks to prevent Blood Rage from killing me. If I let it kill me, one of two things happen (both examples shown in the recorded clips). I either appear to die but then a second or two later get back up with full life, as if the game realizes my life shouldn't actually be that low? Or I appear to die but get no option to respawn and am unable to move or use any abilities. If I log out and back in, I do not get the experience penalty so I guess the death doesn't count.

And yes I've tried playing after this latest patch and it's still the same as far as I can tell.

Recorded clips:

http://xboxclips.com/Snoop+with+a+Y/629f2e5a-91fc-4d7c-9b29-e56c82505bce

http://xboxclips.com/Snoop+with+a+Y/d1554d91-edd9-47c5-a828-85cf8ba23289

http://xboxclips.com/Snoop+with+a+Y/de879393-8bba-47f9-b254-8f729c6af996

Thanks for reading.

EDIT: After playing some more it seems like my life goes back to normal after I'm hit by an enemy. Weird.
Last edited by snoopyt7 on Jan 28, 2018, 8:00:54 AM
Last bumped on Feb 7, 2018, 2:13:26 AM
https://pathofexile.gamepedia.com/Blood_Rage