New to Path of Exile

Greetings.

I am new to this community and to Path of Exile itself.
I started a few days ago, i have a Shadow class character and i'm just learning the ropes as i go.

I have a couple of questions if you don't mind me asking.

1- How big is this game? I know that is divided in acts like Diablo 3 and that there are bosses to kill etc, but i have read somewhere that there is a final boss that can take along time to come across, is this correct? I'm just wondering about the longevity of the game.

2- Is this a open world hack and slash type of game? I'm loving PoE so far but i wonder if anyone here could recommend a good or very good hack and slash game with an open world setting? If possible a recent one.

I'm a big fan of this genre, personally i came from games like World of Warcraft that recently as grown to the point of being a stale MMORPG for me and i don't see any out there that would make me want to play it.
With this adventure in PoE i'm trying to find new paths in gaming, embrace new genres as i did with WoW and PoE was an awesome finding.

I look forward to be an active part of this community, it is a free to play game without P2W policies which is even more awesome and so welcome to me and the player base numbers are very positive.

Thank you for taking some of your time to read this.
Last bumped on Dec 15, 2017, 6:30:59 PM
Hi friend,

Welcome to Path of Exile!

So to touch on your questions;

Path of Exile's primary storyline ("campaign", if you will) consists of ten acts. As an ARPG it's more about the killing & looting than the story, and most people spend the majority of their time in the end-game "map" system. You can only begin using maps after you've completed all ten acts on that character, and it is where the true longevity comes from.