Question about life leeching with Slayer

Hello exiles,

this league I started playing a 2-handed, bleed stacking slayer and I find myself somewhat puzzled about leeching.

I did read wiki of course, and I think I mostly understand the mechanics of leech but what I am fishing for is experience of others.

So, here are the questions I have:
1) Is Slayer's leech good enough on it's own without the support of Vaal Pact?
- I feel like it isn't, due to some nerfs of the max life to leech cap nodes
- but maybe you can prove me wrong and no Pact with some regen fares better?
2) What nodes do you take to further support life leech?
- for sure it's gonna be vitality void and nodes around it
- what about Hematophagy?
3) What do you think scales better - inc. life leech per sec or max LPS to leech rate?
- increase life leech is kinda straightforwardly improving the per sec gain on leech instances
- increased max is basically doing the same through increased upper cap (hence you have more leech instances active at a time)
- I am pretty sure I am missing something here but I am unable to tell what's better...

Last bumped on Dec 18, 2017, 8:29:26 PM
Ain't nobody got time for leeching? :-P
Hema is a given.
I took vaal packt cause it's huge boost to survivability. At the moment (in white maps) it is not really needed. I took the 3 Nodes for Axe (Splitting strike) also + the Vit Void cluster.
LL is plenty now. The more important thing though is getting enaugh of a life pool to survive heavy hits. You die one hit or not at all in my experience so far. So if u feel comfy without VP don't take it, u can always take it later if u feel the need. Concentrate on as much life as u can get and always have your resistances maxed ;)
Just my 2 cents
leech is based on max Life (or ES).

If you only have 5k life, leech is still at 2,2k~ per second if your dps and leech and rate is also good. But maximal 2,5k leech (50% of your hp) if you take all max increase notes.