Help with Totem Builds and Mid/Top Tier Maps

Hello,

I am still new to PoE and I am struggling with the T6+ maps. I like to play totem builds but they seem to cap out in their 70s.

Is there a totem build that is not heavily focused on items, scales up nicely, and can kill the Shaper?
(I kinda suck at item management/development and crafting seems _really_ random)

I tried this build:
https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/1990431

My character:
https://www.pathofexile.com/account/view-profile/Drolem42/characters?characterName=Zoheret

She has okay damage but, wow, is she fragile. She dies instantly on just about any critical hit from a blue mob or higher.

I also tried:
https://www.pathofexile.com/forum/view-thread/1904823

My character:
https://www.pathofexile.com/account/view-profile/Drolem42/characters?characterName=Zaavan

He seems a little more hearty but his damage seem to be max-ed out. (It is hard to tell really because DPS it not listed anywhere)

Can either of these builds be fixed/saved/re-worked to be viable or is there a better totem build that I should try?

Thanks for the help!

Last bumped on Nov 21, 2017, 3:18:57 AM
Totem builds dont cap out at 70s. Spells in PoE in general are very powerful. Your issue is very likely being on a 4L, you should get a 5L at the very least. In terms of survivability, totems are "kiting" builds (many builds are). You cant tank hits... so, don't get hit. Put down your totems and run, put down your totems and run.

Life on gear is mandatory. Your character uses Goldrim (no life), Saffels Frame (no life), Lioneye Paws (no life), your amulet has no life, and two Kikizaru rings (no life). You need more life on your gear. Your Scion has 2973 life and 1163 unreserved mana, which is not enough. If a monster looks at you the wrong way, your Scion will fall over and die. Monster damage in PoE is insane.

You need more life, you need to get a 5L chest, and you need to avoid being hit.