Help new Templar

I guess I have a lot of questions, first off I'm very new to this game (also i'm playing on xbox i don't know if that makes a difference)

So I picked Templar to play. First question is what does Guardian, Hierophant , and Inquisitor mean?

I guess my 2nd question is whats the best weapons to use for this character

I'm here to learn so please any advice is good advice at this point suggestions are much appreciated
Last bumped on Nov 17, 2017, 4:23:32 PM
First off, Welcome to the Path of Exile community! There's definitely nothing wrong with asking questions, so don't hesitate to ask for help with things that don't make sense to you yet. Many of us have been playing for years, so don't feel like you need to learn everything all at once.

As for your questions, let me break those down broadly and then define it a bit tighter for you.

Guardian, Hierophant, and Inquisitor are Ascendancies. Each base starting class (duelist, witch, ranger etc.) can complete the Lord's Labyrinth (Located at the bast of the statue in act 3, then through the waypoint system at any time after that). Completing the Labyrinth allows players to choose one of the ascendancy sub classes available to them, which have different bonus properties that specialize characters towards different strengths. I highly recommend looking over This Page to explore these in further detail.

The TL;DR is that each character you make should have a rudimentary 'plan' that you intend to follow, and you pick your ascendancy based on what will optimize that build the best. So, thinking about that, on to your question #2.

The best weapon to use depends entirely on what it is you plan your character to do. There are so many choices and unique items that all have different interactions with the skill gems in the game and the sub classes that you should hopefully have an idea before you commit too many 'permanent' decisions, only to change your mind later.