Templar with ice nova

Hi everyone,

I am new to the game, so please bear with me. Recently I started a Templar character. I was trying to follow a build guide for a spark Templar, but ended up using fire totems and then ice nova. Anyway, this character reached level 19. At this point, I noticed that I was using fire totems more than anything else. So I tried to use spark and ice nova, but noticed that they were not doing any damage. I can see the animations for both ice nova and spark as though they are working, but they cause no damage. To test this, I went back to the coast map, which the character is over-leveled for. I tried both spark and ice nova, but neither skill caused any damage, zero. I used the fire totems to kill off the zombies.

So I checked a second Templar character that I started in the Standard League. It turns out, I was also using fire totems for this one, but had frostbolt and ice nova slotted too. Again, I went to the coast map and tested frostbolt and ice nova, but again neither did any damage. I ended up using fire totems like before.

I did make sure that both characters meet the int. requirements and in all cases, I see the animation for the skill as though it is working, but it causes no damage. I actually noticed this in 2.6.2 right before the patch, but I still see the problem in 2.6.3.

Also, I recently, finally unlocked the Scion character. I started one and used spark then added ice nova. This character has no problems with either skill. I have not tested this with other characters, so I only see the problem with the Templar right now. I can post more info if needed.

I apologize if I am missing something obvious. I did do a search for ice nova in the forums, but the number of results were overwhelming. I would appreciate any help with this. Thanks.
Last bumped on Jul 23, 2017, 5:21:01 PM