[3.0] SMTS: The Knife Launcher: Tri-Totem Ethereal Knives [Atziri] [Uber Lab]

I’m back with more Soul Mantle shenanigans. This time I"m doing Soul Mantle Self-Flagellation totems in what I think is the strongest iteration of this build theme yet. How strong is it? How about 9-Link main skill strong? It’s a spell build so strong it doesn’t even need a wand.

High Concept

Having already done a fire-based Soul Mantle build using the Soul Mantle Totem System (SMTS as my mapping group named it), I was a little hesitant to go back down the fire path. But I started playing with options involving damage conversion from Physical damage to Fire damage. What I’ve come up with beats the Flee the Fire build I made a few months ago hands down in terms of damage.

The heart of this build comes from the Ring of Blades Unique Jewel. That’s the jewel that both adds five projectiles to our Ethereal Knives skill and it makes them be shot out in a nova pattern instead of straight ahead. And I do love me those nova-style skills.

The Chieftain "Totem Taunting" Ascendancy node helps keep enemies from targeting you. We get around 5,000 life and we make much stronger use of Mind Over Matter. Our secondary defensive mechanics are Life Regeneration, Life Leech (via Ascendancy), some energy shield, CWDT-Immortal Call, and being a totem build. We don’t have as many defensive tricks up our sleeve, but the ones we do have are stronger.

SMTS: An Overview

This basic concept behind the Soul Mantle Totem System is using Soul Mantle to deliberately curse ourselves and allows us to put an unlimited number of curses on ourselves (no duplicates). The Self-Flagellation jewel gives us increased damage for each curse on us. The Kikazaru rings give us 80% curse resistance, which makes curses pretty much irrelevant to us. Then we overcap our resistances by 17% (152% instead of 135% total) and we're all set to beef us our damage by cursing ourselves. We also get to ignore all map curse mods this way.