Latency spiking, what else might cause it than connection?

What is new and why I doubt it's connection related is up here:

I took my computer to friends home during LAN party and it appeared exactly same there, which makes me doubtful that it's anything related to my connection.

Anyway, the support forum is quite a mess and I didnt really find anything related from common problems. I was wondering what else might cause latency spikes in this game if it's not connection related - or is there a thread where the matter is more approached from that direction? Usually googling or looking up this kind of thing ends up to winMTR suggestions etc.

The original post. I thought it's connection related by then. I copy the post I wrote down up here:

"

Hi.

Problem in short: latency / de-sync problems, also disconnections last time a week ago.

I started playing two weeks ago or so.

I have problem with latency spiking / game not showing what is really happening. Most of time my latency is smaller than 50ms, but occasionally rockets even above 2000ms. Sometimes, it seems to behave like there would be latency spike, but it does not appear up on the line that draws the latency. Frame time is usually around 5 second. FPS is between 150-300 depending on situation. Spikes occur between 3-10 seconds repeatively. No matter is it crowded time for servers or not.

I have died numerous times when playing to act 2 cruel, 95% of deaths being easily because of this problem. Since I experience softcore rather pointless and only way i can play the game is huge enough aoe (split arrow). This game stands next to unplayable in hardcore. Me and monsters get randomly relocated, i get damage without projectiles, they suddenly sum up etc.