Standard Stigma - Why the social inequality?

I have been playing this game for a couple years now, primarily in standard. I have played a couple leagues here and there with the recent prophecy league being one of my favorites. Throughout the years I have noticed one thing. Players who play in leagues think they are better or superior to thise in standard in every way. They often trash talk about players who enjoy standard league, or players who do leagues only to become more rich in standard, ie players who are standard focused. I really don't understand it. Often leagues don't offer anything special other than an opportunity to experience possible new content that will be added to standard. Most of the leagues in fact are not new or special but just reskins of similar mechanics for different or new items. For example essence league is similar to perandus league, it offers no special mechanic but offers new possible items through crafting.

When talking to players in game on leagues they oftain describe standard league negatively, as being trash, pointless, & easy mode since wealth always accumulates there with items that no longer drop being maintained there. As such they see leagues as harder as they have challenges that change how you play, and are limited to items that are obtainable currently.